Verbatim DVD discs

vbimport

I have been using Verbatim DVD discs very successfully for two years on the information I received from myce.com but with the last purchase I made I have had disastrous results. Two out of three discs show error on the machine when I try to start the recording. I contacted the company I purchased them from and Their response was my machine must be faulty. The problem with that response is that I have two identical Panasonic DVD recorders and the disc problem is occurring on both of them. That doesn’t sound like a machine problem to me. Has anyone had similar problems or any advice as to how I should proceed?

I do not understand “status” of message - what am I suppose to change

Verbatim has recently changed one line of their dvds. Their new “Life Series” disks do not use the Mitsubishi/Verbatim AZO dye. They are simply CMC Magnetics disks, and don’t even use the Verbatim id codes.

Did you get these Life Series disks, or does the packaging show AZO on the side? If they are the newer series, your recorders may not recognize them properly and thus give poor results.

Thank you for answering - It shows AZO on the wrapper of the spindle
I take it from your message it means these Should work then, correct. And if so what is my next step?

How do I change Status of my question?

I’ve put the status of your question at “Unresolved”. So no need for you to worry with that.

I’m not sure what is going on with your recorders and these disks. To make sure that the recorders are not completely malfunctioning, get a small package of Sony DVD -R disks locally at Walmart, Best Buy, or whoever else might stock them. Don’t get Memorex or TDK or any of the Imation group.

See if the Sony disks will wok. If they do, you may have some bad disks from Verbatim, though that is fairly rare. Verbatim has a lifetime guarantee on their optical disks and you can contact them directly once you establish that your recorders are still working properly.