Verbatim AND Taiyo Problems? Please assist

I’m a relative beginner at backing up my DVD collection, but I did attempt to read as much as possible before beginning. I’m using the latest version of DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink to create my backps. I’m using Taiyo Yuden and Verbatim DataLifePlus as my media. Despite this,according to my quality test my discs are rather poor. I cannot get a quality above 90, and my TOTAL PI errors seems extremely high. I’ve seen many screenshots of people with average PI errors averaging 20-40, but I cannot seem to get below 70. Please see below.

PLEASE-Any suggestions on increasing my burn quality would be greatly appreciated. I’m beginning to wonder if it is even worthwhile to backup my movie collection on DVDs. The rot rate of optical media seems to be within a few years, so I’m starting to think maybe its better to just make DivX or Xvid compressed files and keep them on a hard disk. Either that, or RAR the actual ISOs and leave them on a hard drive.

1st attachment: Verbatim Results

2nd attachment: Taiyo Yuden Results

try to burn at a lower speed, i burn at 4x.

I burn all my discs at 2x or 4x.

Slower does not equal better. Most DVD media usually burns considerably better at or near its rated speed. Those 16x-R Verbatims would be better @ 8-12x and the Yudens @ 8x. Reason being the dye used is optimized for a faster burning speed, not slower.

I don’t know how reliable of a scanning drive that Memorex is, but I, along with many members of this forum, do not trust anything labeled Memorex. Chances are that it is a rebadged drive from some other manufacturer though.

My DVD drive is reviewed here:

http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Reviews/Specific.aspx?ArticleId=16289

Also, I’m new to using the CD Quality program. Overall, how poor are the discs I’ve burned? Should I buy a new burner? I find it hard to believe that both medias are unsatisfactory.