Verbatim 500GB USB2 External Hard Drive Review

vbimport

I just posted the article Verbatim 500GB USB2 External Hard Drive Review.

Verbatim Europe was kind enough to send us their new 500GB External HDD for review.

Read the full article here:  [http://www.cdfreaks.com/review/14800-Verbatim-500GB-USB2-External-Hard-Drive-Review/](http://www.cdfreaks.com/review/14800-Verbatim-500GB-USB2-External-Hard-Drive-Review/)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

I’ve been looking for a 500 GB external hard drive for some time now, but every one of them has complaints from users that they burn out. They may work great in the beginning, but a few weeks/months down the road and they fry. :c What makes this one any different? I’ve seen posts saying the best bet is to separately buy an internal hard drive and an external case with fan and then to just put the internal drive into the case yourself. I’m a novice when it comes to hardware, so I don’t know - is putting an internal drive into an external case yourself a simple plug in type of thing or is it more complex? Any help is appreciated! :g

Most cheapo external drives without a fan use the case as a heat sink. The drives are mounted without the use of thermal grease which would help the thermal transfer efficiency. I use my external drives on a demand basis, that is when I am done transferring data I turn the drive off. I have a mix of home made, Maxtor, Seagate, I/O Magic external drives that are from 1 to 3 years old and have not had any failures. I have, however, had hard drives that are permanantly installed fail, and that was at the 5 year mark. It is advisable to run a SMART drive monitoring program that reports drive condition, so that you might be able rescue data from a drive that is showing signs of sickness