Using Nero to burn mini-dv camcorder files

Hello
I’ve downloaded the trial version of Nero7 Ultra Edition Enhanced wanting to make DVD’s of the camcorder video.
I am unable to do it.
No matter what I try with this program, I am unable to burn this type of DVD.
I’m new to this but, I realize that the camcorder video files are not in the proper format for DVD burning. I’m under the impression that this Nero program is suppose to convert files into the proper format?
However, using the same files, I am able to make a SCVD, data DVD and a Nero Digital DVD. These only play on my computer not my television DVD player.
Using a firewire, I use Nero to capture the camcorder video. Once that’s done, I follow the Nero directions. Everything seems to be working properly right up to the -writing lead-in- part. At this point, everything comes to a stop. The program freezes and I have to restart the computer.
I’ve tried capturing the video using the DV, DVD, AVI and MPEG templates but, end up with the same result.
Any help with this matter would be appreciated.
Thanks
Paul

Welcome to CDF

At Nero Startsmart, have you selected "make your own DVD-Video and that it opens with Nero Vision4?

Yes, I have tried that method as well.
Thanks for the welcome.

What format are your files in?

I think they are NVE capture MPEG movie. At least that’s how they are shown from one of the capture attempts I’ve tried.

After you select “make your own DVD-Video and that it opens with Nero Vision4”, select [B]“add video files”.[/B] These would be the video files you already captured using your firewire connection.

I’m pretty sure that I’ve tried that. I’ve tried so many things trying to burn the files that I can’t remember what happened when I tried to pick the files I just downloaded!
If I remember, you only have so many options as to what files to add. I think I have choosen all file types available over each attempt. Have you used Nero trying to do what I’m trying to do?