Using differant formats

hi i am new to computing i could use some add vice as to what i am doing exspeicaly in backing things up i crash alot

You may want to read the following guides for copying:

http://www.dvd-guides.com/content/view/23/59/

Are you talking about backing up movies, or backing up other disks (software), or are you talking about backing up your computer hard drive/personal files (you said you crash a lot)?

i am running vista and it seams that every other day my pc tells me that my operating system is missing, so oi reboot hit computer repair and it gets me going for awhile. sometimes i have had to reboot the whole system from scratch. this brings me to the backing up of soft ware, short clips ect…

Yes Vista is like that! :slight_smile:

back to my media question i have some mpeg mpg clips that i want to sring togther, is that possible or am i crazy for thinking so

I’m not sure what you mean, sring together (typo)? You can just burn a standard data disk using nero or whatever (udf format if I am not mistaken). This is a standard format, same as would be on purchased software. Windows can read the disks just fine without any special software. you will just basically have files and folders, same as you would on a hard drive. If you are wanting to back up your whole hard drive, so that you can reinstall without having to go through the full install or repair process, you would want to use a backup program like acronis true image. If you meant to say string together, and you want to combine multiple mpeg videos into a single video file, you would want to use video editing software. Could you clarify a bit?