USB turntables

vbimport

Hi :slight_smile:

I have a lot of LP, and some of these are not available anymore, neither as CD.

My old turntable gave up a long time ago, but my heart is crying seeing all these discs collecting dust on the shelf :sad:

I was thinking to get an USB turntable to “rip” my LPs to the computer, so I can listen again my music :slight_smile:

Because of after a quick search I saw that prices are not exactly cheap, my doubt is: is it really worth? What about audio quality? To rip LP is needed a good quality audio card or everything is done by the turntable electronics? What I should check in features to be sure that product is valid?

Is it better to get a “regular” turntable and a good quality audio acquisition card or an USB turntable is good enough?

TIA :slight_smile:

When I volunteered as a jazz DJ in the local non-profit radio station as a graduate student, I asked some of the older and more experienced DJ’s about this. Most of them preferred using quality turntables and needles and running the sound through a dedicated outboard sound card/module. Then they would spend up to a week per LP splitting tracks, adjusting the volume, getting rid of the hiss and cracks and pops and so forth.

So really the question boils down to how fussy you are about making a hi fidelity recording of the original LP and how much time and money you want to spend.

I haven’t looked into USB turntables so I don’t know how they handle the following.
I also have almost no LPs in good enough condition that I would want to attempt copying them . I mostly have kept them for the nostalgia & covers.

I already have a good regular turntable so if I was going this route it is what I would use .

What I’ve read is either the turntable with internal preamp(switchable on a good one) or an inline preamp needs to be in place & the sound card needs “Phono” input jacks.
Or the sound card needs to have a preamp on board built for this & “Phono” input jacks.