Unable to use DVD RW drive x2

vbimport

Hi everyone -

I’m having the same issue with two burners on my PC. Windows will see the drive, but anytime I put a disc in (CD or DVD) it spins up and down for a minute or so and that’s it. I am able to read the same discs with my regular DVD ROM drive. The first drive I had this problem with is a Lite-On SHM-165H6S. The drive I currently have installed is a Philips SPD2413P. The DVD ROM drive is a Sony DDU1615.

I first noticed the problem shortly after purchasing and installing the game Spore. I’ve read a bunch of pages claiming that SecuRom is the issue and just as many responses saying it has nothing to do with it. I have no idea what is true or not, but the timing seems right with when I first noticed the issue.

When my Lite-On first gave me trouble, I brought my PC into work (I’m a desktop support tech) and borrowed the Philips drive from our stock. It worked just fine in the office, so my manager told me to keep it a few days till I could replace mine (figuring the Lite-On had simply died). When I got home that night, I tried to burn a DVD just to test, and sure enough, it wouldn’t work - just kept spining the disc up and down.

Since then, I’ve been trying to find a solution, or at the very least, a definite answer as to what would cause two drives to act in the same fashion…

Here’s the short list of things I’ve tried:
-Uninstall Spore and SecuRom (using SecuRom uninstaller from thier site as well as following instructions posted on various forums)
-Flash the drives firmware to the latest version
-Install latest Windows updates
-Check for Spyware/Malware/Virus (all came up clean)
-Tried my Lite-On in an external enclosure on another PC @ work - didn’t work
-Reformatted my home PC
-Went from Windows XP to Vista Business
-Tried swapping the DVDRom and DVD RW between Master and Slave

My PC specs are:
Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 @ 2.4ghz
4gb ram (3 recognized in Windows 32bit)
GeForce 8800GTS