Ubuntu Help?

vbimport

So I have this old computer that barely supports XP, so I decided to reformat it with Ubuntu. To make a long story short, the fps is terrible and when I watch a video, I am unable to resize it, as the screen then goes black. I believe that this is all a video driver issue, but have no idea how to view driver information. I’ve never used Linux before :o. I’m running a Celleron with 512 MB of RAM, and I believe that the graphics card is integrated into the motherboard. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Post the make/model of the computer. Processor speed plays a big part. There are open source drivers and proprietary drives depending the graphics chip manufacturer, so check the hardware, I think it’s under System Places or something like that. I’m on a Windows box right night and haven’t used Ubuntu for a while. What format is the video, avi, mpg, mkv, etc? What software are you using for playback, Mplayer, VLC, etc? For linux newbies I usually suggest Linux Mint as it comes with the necessary multimedia codecs. Don’t be afraid to visit the Ubuntu Forums for a lot of useful information. There aren’t many Linux users here at Myce but we’ll help if we can.

I got the black screen issue fixed by changing some settings in VLC. I still have a low fps. I need to wait for my computer to catch up while typing!

I’m not sure which hardware I’m running. All I know is that it’s an Asus computer. I can’t find any model number. Is there a program I can use (such as Everest Home Edition for Windows) that will allow me to check my hardware?

I find it hard to believe that Ubuntu 11.04 requires more resources than WinXP. Xp ran better than this! I’m having second thoughts about this being a driver issue. I have a good resolution and the color quality is good.

Well, modern desktop environments on Linux can be real ressource eaters. Not really recommended for older computers. Perhaps some more Lightweight Distros are better: