TYG03 (Verbatim) and Liteon SHW-16H5s problems

Been reading thru stuff here, but cant get an answer i seek.

I have a cake of 50x Verbatims Adv AZO+ 16x DVD-r’s purcaced on ebay (same dealer i always buy from). Manufacturer code TYG03, as per usual. Drive is LiteOn SHW-16H5s.

The problem: cant burn slower than 6x and need 2.4x. Couldnt care less how fast they burn, recently it was a problem of getting disks that burn SLOW…

The burner allows me to choose from speeds from x6 to x16.

Tried some crappy Tesco disks and they burned 1x to 8x. I’ve been using verbs for many years now, so reluctant to switch to other brand.

Now, i have brought one of the disks of that batch to work to check. Drive is LiteOn SOHW-1633s. Burns 1x-8x.

Both drives have been flashed to most recent firmware. Yesterday. Taken from liteon official site.

So, whats the problem ? Newer drive wont record the way i want, while older one happily does that easy ??? What gives ?

2.4x is for DVD+R only, but please tell us, why do you want to burn so slow?

Older drive is crap, that’s why.

16x media should be written @ 6x or above IMO so the writer is working perfectly it seems :stuck_out_tongue:

Write @ 6, 8 or 12x and do a quality scan in nero cdspeed. I’m sure the results will be acceptable :slight_smile:

Console backups (do i get banninated now ?games are owned btw, not that it makes much difference really).
Console optics are notoriously crap, so 4x is the best they can handle in my opinion.

I usually record @ 2x-4x and the last pie of verbs i got wont burn lower than 6x, ant drive effectively becomes coaster maker…

It does work for pc stuff… I do a bit of videoediting and it does work well for the purpose…

Well first things first, you won’t get banned for console backups here. And yes it does make a difference if you own them or not lol.