TSST TS-H653A (SH-S183A) in Dell XPS410

vbimport

:clap: I just purchased a new Dell XPS410 and it shipped with the TSST (Samsung?) TS-H653A DVD ±RW with SATA connections (sweet :smiley: ). I always like TWO DVD RW’s in my one computer instead of the traditional one DVD “player” & one “recorder” and usually I prefer both the same make and model DVD ±RW’s. Since this computer is only two days old, and I (shockingly) just heard of the disappearing BENQ’s (which just a year ago were everywhere) I am totally lost as to which DVD ±RW I should buy for my “other” (second) unit… and please remember, it MUST be SATA and not P-ATA. Should I just go out and buy ANOTHER TS-H653A ??:confused: Thanks !!

I just got the same configuration from Dell. I’m also learning about this drive, so I’m by no means an expert. I’ve previously owned BenQ 1620 and 1640 drives. I was surprised to learn that this Dell doesn’t support P-ATA drives at all. I’m trying to decide whether to get an interface for my BenQs. I’m leaning toward just buying a SATA Lite-On from newegg.com. I’m not sure which model just yet, as I haven’t researched that.

The TS-H653A is the same drive as the Samsung SH-S183A. That’s what most folks here call the drive. I’m trying to figure out how to crossflash to the SB01 firmware. Right now I’m stuck with the Dell firmware. I’m sure there is a crossflash utility somewhere. Anyway, my drive came with D300 firmware. You can find the D400 firmware on Dell’s website. I haven’t flashed to it yet, so I can’t vouch for it. The couple of burns I did with D300 turned out pretty good.