Trying to work the bugs out of my LVW-5005

First off, let me say I’m a newbie, so if I repeat any previous questions that some folks may find repetitive or obvious, please don’t throw tomatos at me. I hate tomatos. But I like ketchup. Go figure. :slight_smile:

I have spent the last few hours going through the forum, looking for answers, but I haven’t found the one that addressed my situation exactly, though several were very close. So, I figured I’d jump in and ask, and hope for the best.

I’m working on fixing a “jitter” issue when converting from VHS to DVD on my LVW-5005. Burns seem to go fine when I’m in 1 or 2 hour mode, but in 3 or 4, I get a slight “slow motion” effect, sometimes briefly, sometimes throughout the burn. Several times it will cause the audio to be off as well, effectively ruining the burn.

I previously had the ILO R04, and it was GREAT! I specifically went after the LVW-5005 when my ILO stepped on a rainbow because they basically appeared to operate the same. I had some jitter issues with the R04, but nothing like I have with the 5005.

I have the latest firmware, hacked to give me 3 hour mode and disable Macrovision. I’m running the video signal using RCA cables out of my VCR, into a SIMA CT-200 Digital Video Enhancer, then into the 5005. I’m not at home at the moment, but the manufacture date on the box was in the latter half of 2005, as I recall.