Trying to do a reverse "jams" DVD with Nero 7

Hi,

I’ve been trying to figure this out for about 2 hours now and am getting nowhere.
I’m a teacher. I recently bought a Sony Handycam so I could record my students’ speeches. I’d like to burn each student their own copy of their speech. I did a test run of the camcorder. I have 8 chapters I guess (8 different segments recorded). Rather than pull separate video files from different DVDs and combine on one DVD, I want to take the one DVD and burn to separate DVD’s (hence the reverse of a “jams” DVD).

How do I keep from burning the entire DVD to a DVD-R? I want to separate out the 8 segments to record one segment per DVD.
To clarify: In a given day of class, I could have up to 10 kids’ speeches recorded to one DVD in the camcorder. How do I take out each kid’s speech and burn it to a DVD for them (ending up with 10 burned DVDs, one per kid)? Right now, I was able to burn my 8 original segments but Nero 7 burned it all at once to one DVD. It didn’t give me an option to do the segments one at a time.

I tried reading their free online help but all it showed me was what the different icons mean in the software. I tried a search and it brought me back to the original page that showed me icons.

I have an Hp dvd1040 and the software that came with it is Nero 7 Essentials.

Thanks so much!

Hi Ms. Teacher & Welcome:

You should have Nero Vision and you can use that to cut the video files into the segments you want.

The Nero help manuals are on-line at http://www.nero.com/enu/support-nero7-helpfiles.html

When you say I “should have Nero Vision” is that something that would have come automatically with the Nero 7 software or is that something else I need to buy/download?

Go to “start”, “programs” and click on Nero 7. Are one of your Nero programs Nero Vision 4?