Trying to create a backup CD, not working

vbimport

Hello, this is my first time copying anything because I've never been interested in piracy or making my own CDs but recently a game CD got lost and I have decided to backup my more expensive game CDs from now on.

The game is Warcraft 3.

So I tried copying to a CD with my regular software and it didn't work. It told me that it doesn't detect the CD although it seems that everything is working. I found out later that it is copyright protection in work and if I wanted to have a backup CD I needed a different software program like CloneCD or Ahead Nero.

So first I got CloneCD. All the time, everytime I try copying I get an error at 3% of the write portion:

"Writing to CD failed, Unit Attention: Power On, Reset, Or Bus Device Reset Occured(6:0X29:X02)"

Whatever I did never made anything else happen. Defragmented, turned off any program, put the write speed both up and down.

What's wrong? But no matter, I went to Ahead Nero.

This time it worked. BUT I still got the copyright protection problem. I thought Nero was susposed to go around that?

What do I do, I figured CD copying was simple. It is very hard.

Thanks.

are you copying on the fly ? what drive do you use? and nero doesnt do copy protections.

Well there is a new kind of copy protection on the original CD of Warcraft. See this thread:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=49766

So you need to have a CD Writer that can read and write that disc. Otherwise it just wont work :wink:

And of course this thread:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=49325

I have an Iomega ZipCd 650. Does that work?

You picked a brute of a game to try for your first game cd backup. However, for latest info on copying this game see here

Warcraft 3 has a Secure Rom New protection. you gotta have a good writer + clone cd installed to have any chance of a backup. :o

So is an Iomega ZipCD 650 a good writer? Capable of doing it?