Trying to burn movies to dvd-r and im kinda stuck

vbimport

im using a roxio creator program to burn movies to dvd-r discs and im sad to say they are memorex discs which i now know from reading other discussions is a bad choice, however im new at this burning dvds thing. now when i burn the movies i downloaded from limewire to the discs, they work fine in my laptop but when i put them in any dvd player i get a error message and when i put the discs in other computers it plays the sound but i have no picture. i need help asap:)

The vast majority of videos you can download from limewire are illegal, and thus not something we can talk about on these forums. But making the [B]huge[/B] assumption that you have downloaded some that are not copyright protected, we might be able to help.

It is probable that the videos are not in dvd-video format. Most video you can download has been converted, or created in other formats like xvid avi or .wmv. Look at the extension at the end of the files you have. It might be .avi, .mp4, .mov, .mkv or .wmv. Not many of those can be read by a stand alone dvd player. Even modern players that have support for different video formats other than dvd-video usually only work with avi files using either the divx or xvid codecs.

If the file you have is a Video_TS folder, with .vob, .ifo and .bup files within it, then you have actual dvd-video.

So the first thing to do is to determine exactly what you have. Then you need to decide if it needs to be converted to something that can play in your stand alone player ( I have no idea what capabilities your particular player has). For conversions to dvd-video look at a couple of free programs called AVStoDVD and DVDFlick. Google those names and you’ll find where to download them.