Troubleshooting Question

Good evening everyone,

Obviously I’m new to these forums, which by the way are done very nicely! Also, I’m a DVD burning NooB as well.

I recently started using DVDFab (any feedback regarding my choice would be appreciated).

Anyway, I was attempting to burn Season 1 disc 1 of The Sopranos. DVDFab read the DVD just fine. I had to split the episodes to fit on my 4.7 GB discs. So the excellent split feature worked great and I was able to split the DVD into two separate discs; two episodes on each.

DVDFab successfully split the discs, but when the write process was about to begin, it ejected my DVD and said to insert media. I tried simply sending the DVD back into the drive several times, but it still wouldn’t read.

Is this something on my end?

And, currently I’m using Sony 4.7GB DVD-R’s. I read the many great articles pertaining to the superiority of DVD+R’s, and plan on switching. Is Sony a good brand? And will my DVD-R’s “suffice” for the time being?

Any help and suggestions would be great :bow:

Thanks in advance for getting this noob up and running.

Wildcat out.

Hi -Wildcat-, welcome :slight_smile:

DVDFab is a fine choice IMO :iagree:…as are the Sony discs (although the very best would be Verbatim). DVD-Rs should do you just fine.

Do you have any virtual drive/emulation software (such as Alcohol or Daemon Tools) installed on your PC? If so, a setting may need changing in one of them (if they are present, no uninstall should be necessary, at least for the moment).

Thankyou also for your kind words about the forum. :slight_smile:

Edit: forgot to ask - what’s the make and model of your burner, and what speed are the Sony discs rated at?

If you wish to burn them manually, take a look in my signature.

Thanks for the reply Arachne, and you’re welcome. Nothing better than a well put-together board.