Trouble with Euorpean DVDs

Hi There,
I’m a newbie I couldn’t find anthing on this topic by searching so I’m raising a flag.

I’m using Clone DVD2 and Any DVD to try and copy two concert DVDs for The Netherlands. The disc coding is region free. Clone copies the discs with no visible errors. But, neither the original or the copy will play in any DVD player.

I’m guessing that the video format is wrong. Euorpe uses PAL format whereas, USA uses NTSC. Any help on changing the format?
http://club.cdfreaks.com/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=74#
Confused

dvd santa will do it but people have had ranging complaints about speed/quality/etc.

some are satisfied with the result, others are not.

if you routinely purchase discs from other countries it may be worth it to purchase a multi-format (ie PAL and NTSC) dvd player and just worry about backing up as normal rather than converting.

if this is a one time thing then dvdsanta will probably be satisfactory.

others may contribute with other programs that have worked for them, but you can play with dvdsanta’s free trial while you wait for other responses.

not sure if there are any free programs that will do that conversion.

I had some discs that a friend brought back from overseas. They are PAL and just sat on the shelf as I “knew” I could not play them in my dvd player. Well, awhile ago I was reading up on converting PAL to NTSC and found a post from someone that said he had good luck playing PALs in his dvd player as alot of the newer players also support PAL now EVEN IF THEY DO NOT SAY SO.

Hmmmm. I have 3 JVC players (all different models & years but no more than 3 years old) and a cheap Wally World player. I tried the PAL discs in them and all 3 JVCs played it just fine - the Wally World cheapo would not.

I dug out my owners manual and found that it does say that it will play R1 PAL discs as long as it is outputted to a NTSC tv. I did not pay more than $75 for any of the JVCs.