Trouble Burning DL- only 50% but Full!

Hi all
Please forgive me if I sound crap at ths…it seems i am though! I have just started today burning Dual Layer DVD’s and I have two .DVD images and 1 .NRG image. If I try and burn any by using Nero (for the NRG), IMGBurn or CloneCD for the .DVD images, it gets 51% into the burn, then fails every time on no matter what image. When I eject the DVD and have a look on the base, its burned the whole DVD. Its like its run out of space on the DVD yet its only got to 51%. These are Ricoh Dual Layer discs and my drive is a Philips DVD1640P cross flashed to BenQ 1620 Firmware B7W9. It was also doing the same on the latest Philips P3.7 firmware. I have enabled/disabled WOPC to no effect

Am I being a total noob?!

Cheers

Your issue could be a number of things.

Do you have some error logs from the software that you were using to post?

:cool: :cool:

Hi there
I am just burning again and will let you know the result. i know it will fail again. Such a waste of Discs, but I really want to get to the bottom of this. I just read this info for IMGBurn:

You have to feed ImgBurn the correct layerbreak information. This has only to be done once as it saves this setting for future use.

• Go to TOOLS -> SETTINGS
  • within the tab WRITE go to OPTIONS - Layer Break (for DL Media)
  • click User specified
  • enter 1913760 and click OK

Be back in a moment to say it didn’t work with the log results…

I hope you can see this image…This is it burning now quite happily…but its not hit 51% yet! I know it will fail…

The sectors bit at the top seems to be halfof what the disc image is. Is that something to do with it?

and as suspected, here is my error again! What can it be? It did the same in Nero with the NRG image I have so I suspect it isn’t software related…

Now that you have had several errors, I would check and make sure the DMA mode is still enabled.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616

I assume your Firmware is up-to-date?