Total newbie with troubles burning dvds

Hi. Forgive my lack of knowledge. I used WinAvi converter to make an .avi file into dvd(I think .vob?). I burned it to a DVD-R disc and it works on my computer but when I play it on my tv the picture has a bunch of lines in it. Any solutions/tips/help/advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Shel

“bunch of lines” means what exactly??

When it plays, it is jumpy and there are vertical lines running across the images.

We need to know which burner and discs you’re using, southerncutie. Please post a screenshot like the one below (with the disc in the drive) (click on CDSpeed if you don’t have it yet).

Nero CD-DVD Speed: Disc Info
Basic Information
Disc type: : DVD-R
Book Type : DVD-R
Manufacturer: : Sony
MID : SONY16D1
Write speeds: : 2 X - 4 X - 6 X - 8 X - 12 X - 16 X - 18 X - 20 X
Blank Capacity : 4.38 GB
: 4489 MB
: 4707319808 bytes
Extended Information
Layers : 1
Usage : General
Copyright protection : n/a
Recorder information : recorded with LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1P
Disc Status : Closed
Raw Data
Pre-recorded Information in Lead-in (0Eh)
0000 - 01 40 C1 FD 9E D8 52 00 02 84 0E 10 87 88 80 00 - .@…R…
0010 - 03 53 4F 4E 59 31 36 00 04 44 31 00 00 00 00 00 - .SONY16…D1…
0020 - 05 88 80 00 00 00 01 00 F0 FF FF FF 68 2F 19 00 - …h/…
0030 - FC 10 12 00 5D 8E 41 77 04 00 00 00 F4 10 12 00 - …].Aw…
0040 - 00 C0 41 7E 00 80 00 00 A8 F2 42 7E 7D 3F 41 77 - …A~…B~}?Aw
0050 - 00 80 00 00 58 08 04 00 FC FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 - …X…
0060 - 01 00 00 00 68 2F 19 00 48 11 12 00 00 00 16 00 - …h/…H…

OK, you have a Lite-On burner. In that case you can do a Disc Quality scan (see example below) (set scan speed to 8X).

I’m almost sure that this issue has nothing to do with the burning/media stage , but more with the de-interlacing performance of the standalone player vs. the DVD player software on the PC.