Total newb needs help burning :)

Hi everyone, My name is nicki and im new to this forum and the world of burning. I have a Memorex dual format recorder that uses the Nero Suite and have been having a lot of trouble burning. My main issue is that is seems that out of the six dvd’s I have tried to burn, none will copy because they are copyrighted. It says “cd is protected, can’t copy” every time. I don’t understand what the point of having a burner is if you can’t copy anything-is there a way to work around this? Thank you very much for your help!

Also, when I try to burn cds at 48x,i get a message saying “can only write at 16x because speed of source data is too slow” What does this mean and how do I speed things up? It took me almost an hour to burn a CD!

Hi & welcome, Nicki :slight_smile:

Nero doesn’t backup copy-protected discs. You’ll need special software for this, like CloneCD or Alcohol120%. About the speed problem, it is recommended to make a temporary image of the source disc on your hard drive before burning. On-the-fly copying between two drives installed on the same cable can lead to the problem you described.

clonecd alone won’t do this either you need anydvd or dvd43 or ripit4me to bypass the encryptions. plus it depends if you are going to burn to a single layer 4.7 gigs or a double layer dvd 8.5 which is 7.93 I think.??? So what do you have and we can help you from there. You stated Nero.

Hi Dr. Who,
Thanks for your response…I have a double layer burner that has the capactiy for 4.7 (sinle) or 8.5 (double) gigs and yes, Nero. I don’t even know the distincton between single and double layered dvds. Let me know what to do! Thanks, Nicki

Fairly new at this myself but my .02 anyway.

Dual Layer means your drive can burn to special disks that have dual layers to record on more space but they cost more.