Toshiba SD-M1912 and AOpen DVD-1648/AAP - which chipsets?

vbimport

Does anybody know which chipsets the following dvd-roms use:

• Toshiba SD-M1912
  • AOpen DVD-1648/AAP

I have been using Toshiba DVD Rom’s for several years now. just purchased a 1912 and to my suprise I find that what I have is a rebadged samsung DVD Rom. havnt installed it yet so I dont know what it’s performance is or what chipset it uses but it is definitely a samsung.

Toshiba: Mediatek
AOpen: ALi (Acer Laboratories Inc)

The drive is made by TSST (=Toshiba Samsung Storage Technologies).
You can find more info here.

Erik,

Thanks for the info I wasnt aware that toshiba and samsung had collaborated to make drives. now I dont feel like I didnt get what I paid for.

Thanks!

So how does the performance of the SD-M1912 compare to that of the SD-M1712? I usually buy my 1712s from newegg.com but they’ve been discontinued. Now concerning the Aopen drive, I have glanced at a thread or 2 saying they’re the best. But with an Ali chip? The last few products I’ve experienced with Ali chipsets were HORRIBLE and didn’t work due to the flaws of the chipset itself. One was a motherboard (5+ years ago) for AMD processors, another was a usb 2.0 card. They were practically giving away these cards for free ($10 with a $10 rebate).

You are comparing apples and oranges. Enough said.

If you want to start using analogies, sure I am comparing apples to oranges. But what if these apples and oranges came from the same farmer/orchard? And while you didn’t know how good their apples were, say it was known that their oranges were inferior (diseased, never tasty, & so on). Would you then be cautious about purchasing unknown apples from those same farmers?

If you pay attention to some of a company’s products, committment to quality, support, etc., it could give you some idea of their current and future products. I was addressing Ali chips and shared my past knowledge about them.