Torrent Issues

Coming from a complete newbie who now has to go to college, I would like to question how I go behind -to what I think- thier firewall to actually d/l a torrent.

I have tried utorrent/bitcomet and can connect to a alot of peers/seeds, but I cannot actually get any data transfer.

Some help would be helpful :stuck_out_tongue:
thanks in advance

I would check the conditions of the use of college infrastructure…don’t want to advocate you breaking the rules and possibly losing privileges.

But, you may consider port forwarding…so that the software uses different ports that are not blocked by the firewall… I don’t know the technical stuff, but I remember this is possible. I don’t know if the program still exists and if it can do this still, but from back in the days HTTPORT springs to mind…

ummm…problem?

http://www.htthost.com/faq.boa?question=p2p

Q: How to set up HTTPort for use with Donkey/Kazaa/Kazaa/Morpheus or other file sharing app ?

There are two problems with P2P applications.

First, they generate an enormous amount of traffic. This is why the ports belonging to all the well known P2P apps are blocked on both public and privileged HTTHost servers. They were opened once, but as it turned out to be, a single user can bring the whole server to a crawl, simply by consuming all the bandwidth. This we cannot afford. If you need P2P through HTTPort, please install your own HTTHost on your own pipe.

The second problem with these programs is that they tend to support SOCKS5 only, whereas HTTPort provides only a SOCKS4 server. Some of them, like WinMX, DO support SOCKS4 and can be run fine through HTTPort. The others still can be run, by means of some auxiliary application called SocksCap, inserted in between the P2P app and HTTPort. Please see the SocksCap docs on how to use it.