Too much info for one DVD

I am very new to this so thanks in advance for what is probably a very basic inquiry. There is just so much software that I am not sure which ones are ‘soup-to-nuts’ programs and which ones can only do certain things. I will only be burning a large amount of home vids (new baby in the house) and just want to understand the process. The programs I have are:

Cyberlink Studio w/
Power director NE
Power producer

Imgburn
Nero smartstart essentials
DVD shrink
DVD decrypter

I have created picture discs successfully with Power Producer, but when I moved on to some home videos the run time is too long. I have authored them in Power Director and the run time is about 2 hours. When I open them in Power Producer to burn them, the file size is around 8200 megs. Is there something I am missing? Is it a matter of putting it on two discs or do I need to use some other software to compress it? If it needs to go on two discs, do I create two separate ‘movies’ in Director and then burn the two or do I create one movie and let some other software decide where they need to split during the burn? Great thanks! I am sure the solution is very easy.

Tranesblues

Home videos don’t compress as well as hollywood shot stuff does (cameras are noisier, more camera ‘jiggle’, etc.). I’d suggest putting an hour to an hour and a half on a DVD. You could compress with DVD Shrink, but putting less video on a disk won’t compromise picture quality.

Welcome to the forums.

I have no experience with the Cyberlink programs that you are using to make your dvds. I’m a little surprised one of them didn’t offer to set limits on the output size of the dvd though. 2 hrs of video in mpeg2 (codec used in dvds) can easily fit onto a single layer dvd if encoded properly, approx 4.3gb. Quality should be good also, for that length of video, though ollyteddy has more insight on encoding home video than I. I do more captures from cleaner sources.