To Overclock LiteON 48125W to Something better

Hello;

I am new to all this. I bought my liteon 48x12x48 (48125W) because he told me liteon’s were overclockable to 52 and higher. I just found out that mine is not overclockable yet. Is that right? what options are there right now for my type of model.

I am not unhappy with it. My first cdr/cdrw was a 2x, my second was a plextor 12x10x32a and this is my first. Not bad choice since it’s 4 times faster than the plextor and cost me 49.00 bucks compared to the 120 I paid for the plextor back then.

any pointers and tips I will appreciate them. Sorry if my question is and old issue.

Thanks

Gilberto
San Juan, PR

You’re currently stuck at 48x. Which isn’t really bad at all, the only real advantage of the new writers (in my mind) is the 24x rewrite. Read the Big Lite-On FAQ and Overclocking thread for more info.

48125W uses the old 5 series chipset, so you’re stuck w/ 48x. You can either take the 48125W back and demand for an exchange for a 48126S, or swallow the fact that you got suckered. But hey, look at it this way, 52x is only a few seconds faster than the 48x in write, and who uses RW when CDRs are so cheap?

If you are never going to be interested in overclocking, hang on to the 48125W. That model is now obsolete and has most probably reached its ultimate speeds.

With the current 6 chipset, who knows where it will end? It has only recently been released and may even have the potential to increase the RW capability to over 24x. I decided to upgrade from the 48125W for that reason. Then again I would not be looking at the CDFreaks forum if I was not an overclock freak!

then the mofo’s and mwave sold me obsolete hardware.

great.

I will sell it to one of my clients.

thanks for the help

.g.

Originally posted by Stoner

But hey, look at it this way, 52x is only a few seconds faster than the 48x in write

and who uses RW when CDRs are so cheap?

1-2 secs , in fact

who ? lamers :bigsmile: