To Compress Or Not To Compress That Is My Question

Hello All,

I am brand new at this whole DVD back up thing. I have DVD Studio Pro 2 and am planning on buying the new Plextor 16x DVD reader writer. The main reason I am considering it is A) I heard Plextor makes the best DVD drives AND B) It’s a dual layer burner. I am a quality junkie, I like to have the best, without paying the most. Also I have found that the dual layer discs are around $10 a piece. My question is this, how much quality am I losing by compressing my DVD movies to a single layer disc, as opposed to no compression on a dual layer disc. So is there anyone out there that has a good perspective between the two that could give me some advice?

-SetoTitan

Incoming $0.02:

Wait a couple weeks before buying the PX-716A… the first hardware version that shipped has had numerous problems ranging from poor write quality at higher speeds to not being able to recognize when media is inserted. I got two of the latter before ending up with one of the former. YMMV.

Quality loss? I’ll admit I cannot tell the difference between the original DVD and a slightly recompressed DVD. If it’s a great movie, I’ll be stubborn and do a 1:1 backup to dual layer or split it onto two 4.7GB media. Otherwise, I don’t mind recompressing and using the backup rather than the original. Most transcoding software will do a good job when it’s reducing data size down to about 85% of original. It’s an arbitrary number, but it’s still a good rule of thumb. Ripping out unneeded menus, audio tracks and extras will often free up enough space to convert a DVD-9 movie to DVD-5 size without having to transcode. At the very least it gives you more space to devote to video data, so that you might not have to compress too much when transcoding.