To buy or not to buy?

vbimport

I have been reading all the posts on this forum of the problems with the plextor 716A and have read about problems with the pioneer A08XL. I am new to DVD burning and reliability/quality burning is the main function I need. Fastest burn times are not a high priority and burning cheaper media is not needed either.

I received the pioneer A08XL as a gift, but as a current plextor 12/10/32A owner, want the plextor 716A.

Which is better, to keep the pioneer or return it and get the plextor?

Any and all comments welcomed :smiley:

Welcome to the forum Duckiller (interesting name, TheFlyingDuckman better watch out! ;)),

Seeing as I don’t own a Pioneer A08XL drive I cannot say which one is better. All I can tell you is that that Plextor PX-716A review will be online this week. My overall impressions of the drive are not great but good. It has some issues I’d like to see worked out but I’m sure that a firmware upgrade will be able to fix these issues. If you’re going to stick to quality media and a lower write speed any drive will perform just fine, including the 716A. The Plextor PX-716A does add features like Q-Check, AutoStrategy, SilentMode, GigaRec, VariRec, SecuRec, etc. which make it stand out from the rest. Hope this helps you!

Thanks. I have 30 days to take it back to BB. I will wait for the review first.

As for the name…'tis the season.

The Pioneer is a good drive, but I believe it sells for around $130 at BestBuy minus a $30 mail in rebate (see link below). This makes the Pioneer a somewhat pricey drive. :eek:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1083714106478&skuId=6714512&productCategoryId=cat01041&type=product

The Plextor sells for $150 minus a $30 rebate, a $20 premium over the Pioneer. :iagree:

Considering the expense of the Pioneer, I think you are better served paying $20 more and getting the Plextor. If you wanted to go cheaper, I’d tell you to buy the Benq 1620, which BestBuy doesn’t sell. :sad: