Thinking of buying a GSA-4082B

I recently bought a BenQ DW800A without knowing it was only a + media burner and i bought 100 blank - media with it :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, i returned it to the store and ordered an LG 4082B instead. I’m not sure if its any good but as long as it burns my - dvds then i am happy. I dont want them to go to waste.
What do you guys think of this drive? I’ve never really owned a dvd burner before this so i’m a complete noob when it comes to dvd burning. Should i buy other brands or will this do? I’m also buying an LG because of its reasonable price… 95.99 :iagree: DW800A was 79.99

can someone maybe point me to some review sites i can read?

thank you

Are they Australian or Canadian dollars? GSA-4082B works like a typical LG optical drive. Good with good media, bad with bad media, no overspeed writing, no bitsetting for Plus media, etc.

Canadian dollars. I have some cheap no name brand -R media and 100 of them. Hopefully they would atleast burn even though its slow. You think 95 is a good price for Canadian dollar?

Thew 4082B is a decent burner. I had one before my current 4120B.

can you find out the media code of the cheap media (e.g., using DVDINFOPRO).

4082B as well as 4120B can work with cheap media. depending on which cheap media like all other burners. In any case, very cheap media is not recomended anyway with any burner as usually it turns our expensive on the long run.

Personally, I’d look for the sweet spot in the pricing. Here atm the LG 4120B is at that sweet spot. Unless the earlier drive really is better, I would rather pay the $20 or so extra for the newer drive (generally speaking, this is for any maufacturer). I’m sure the 4082B is a fine burner, but IMO i’d rather pay a bit extra for the 4120B (especially since 4120B can do bitsetting).

Cheap media isn’t really advisable, unless you plan to throw them away almost straight afterwards.

Merc