Theoretical questions...(NEWBIE)

Hi.
I am a total newbie to DVD creation.
I have a bunch of files taking up space on my hard drive (.avi & mpeg) that I want to burn to DVD, so I can watch them on TV.

My questions relate to picture quality.

Ok for eg.
One 500 MB file is 352 x 240 @ 23.83fps (and it’s 72 mins long) 1150kbps

Another is the same quality, but it’s 50 mins long.

My question relates to quality (bitrate settings) – If I wanted to burn both to the same DVD, would the best quality still be really bad because of the space limitations of the DVD (vs. if I burned them to separate DVDs?)

-Or is a case of the quality of the original files (pretty average in this example).

I guess my question relates to decoding a lossy format. (for eg, if I took a 128 kbps .mp3 and made it 256 kbps, it’s size would go up and I could not fit as many on one disk, BUT the quality would only ever be 128 kbps!!!)

-Is this the same with my .avi example above?

If so, what is the maximum (best quality) bitrate I would need to make each file to achieve the best quality possible, given it isn’t great to start with.

-I mean, if I made it 720 x 576 @ 9000 kbps (which would take up tons of DVD space), would that look any better than 352 x 576 @ 4000 kbps, given the original file’s specs (352 x 240 @ 23.83fps @ 1150kbps)

I guess what I’m asking is what is the maximum quality I can make – is it identical to the original file’s specs (i.e., 352 x 240 @ 23.83fps, 1150kbps), or can I make it look better by giving it a higher bitrate, but thereby taking up more disk space?