The Pioneer DVR 108

vbimport

Hi. I’m a newbie here. I have recently bought a Pioneer DVR-108 optical drive.

Here are some questions that I have :slight_smile:

1. Do you need special media to write at 12x and 16x DVD speed? I saw that one person managed to use their DVD-R 4x media at 12x speed successfully.

2. I use Nero. If there is no disk in the drive and I go to make a DVD it reports that I can do up 2.4x speed. If I put 4x media in it then goes up to 4x speed. Relating to question one, if I wanted to try to burn my 4x media at 12x speed, how would I make Nero do this? Is this dangerous? If I can’t do it in Nero, is there any other software that will?

3. If I do need 16x DVD media, where can I buy it?

4. I got no software with my drive, and I don’t believe it has anti-noise abilities (Although it is generally silent). There are two firmware updates listed: “DVR108_FW118EU.exe” and “DVR108xXL_FW118.exe.” Which firmware would I need? I should use that detection tool.

I updated the firmware to NIL’s firmware (1.14 final). I wrote a disk at 8 speed and then 4 speed. Both came out with errors on verification, and then errors on other checking utilities.

I then updated my drives firmware to 1.18. Did the same at 4 speed, and it still produced errors.

Where can I get firmware to downgrade it back to 1.14. What could be causing these errors? I notcied they happened on about the same sectors evenn though I scanned three disks I wrote the same data to.

Media
Media Type …: DVD-R
Media ID …: PRINCO
Speeds …: N/A
Capacity …: 4.35 Gb
Sectors …: 2281712
Layers …: 1

1. Do you need special media to write at 12x and 16x DVD speed? I saw that one person managed to use their DVD-R 4x media at 12x speed successfully.