Technical explanation of PS2 disc authentication requested

vbimport

Hello, I am new to the cdfreaks forums; however, after reading various threads I’ve decided I would like to pick the brains of the cdfreaks community.
Can someone please explain the technical details of how Ps2 DVD authentication works in the console. So far all the information google has been able to yield is that there is a section of intentional bad sectors on an original Ps2 DVD. What I would like to know is:

1. Does anyone know more information about how it actually works in a technical sense?
  2. Has anyone come up with a way to physically modify a DVD-burner to defeat said authentication?
    and 3) Why not?
    I have already done the Independance MC exploit, installed a hard drive, and done HDLoader. I am simply not satisfied with current state of mod-chipless Ps2 hacks and would like to know if something better is possible if one were to have WAY too much time on their hands. Thanks.

Not possible. :disagree:

The original Playstation boot up sectors have never been cracked so what makes you think that it’s possible to crack the Playstation 2 boot sectors?

You and I are just going to have to make do with the HD Loader, Independence Memory Card Exploit and Swap Magic methods as modchip-less modding solutions for our PS2s. You can throw DVD Region X in there aswell. :iagree:

I did a little bit of digging and someone “claims” to have been able to bypass the PSX protection by manually forcing his CD burner open and starting a burn; then 20 seconds later manually closing the drive. Whether or not said person is credible or not it another matter.

Just out of curiosity what does the DVD Region X method involve? I have never heard of it.

Yeah I already saw that. It’s not possible to open up your drive’s disc tray during the beginning of a burn. At least not for most of the newer drives. :disagree: