TDK undresses Blu-ray discs

vbimport

I just posted the article TDK undresses Blu-ray discs.

Because of the higher data density, Blu-ray discs needed to be protected with cartridges. Heise reports, that by joining the Blu-ray Disc Founders, TDK have given their Hard…

Read the full article here:  [http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/7973-TDK-undresses-Blu-ray-discs.html](http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/7973-TDK-undresses-Blu-ray-discs.html)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

I’m a pro cartrige kind of guy. I’d rather pay the extra $.25 so that I can be sure my disc will NEVER get scratched. I treat my discs like gold but when you have kids in the mix or loan discs to friends/family, it doesn’t matter how good you treat your discs. IMHO companies only want cart free discs because they can increase their profits. I’d rather they pass the pocket change difference on to the consumer. Think carts can’t work properly or prevent you from cleaning dust off of the disc? Then check out MDs, no dust problems and they’re well made.

I think it’s more than just profit. For me, because I have so many discs (literally a few hundred burned CDs plus a number of DVDs), being able to store them compactly is very important. And for companies that make and sell them, compact storage is important, too. Plus, if they can cut costs, the prices for consumers will fall, and they’ll be able to sell more. Yes, more profit for them, but it’s good for us, too, because it means that we get to buy more. Overall, I think that cartridges are a bit clumsy, and if they can find a way to protect the disc without a cartridge, I’d welcome it.