Taiyo Yuden DVD product

Hello ‘pyromaniacs’! :wink:
First I am going to introduce myself: I am CookieNL and I am new in the world of burning media. My English is not so good because it is not my native language. :smiley:

I would like to burn some movies on DVD, but to begin with burning I need ‘blank’ DVDs
Everywhere on the internet they are preaching about the brand Taiyo Yuden.
But unfortunately this brand is rare to get in my country The Netherlands.

With thanks to this forum I found a German website ‘Nierle’ where they sell Taiyo Yuden DVDs.

This product:

http://www.nierle2.com/en/article/4561/DVD-R_4,7_GB_8x_Taiyo_Yuden_non_printed_in_Cakebox_100-pack.html

Mediacode: TYG02

My question to you guys is: do you recommend this product or is a other product/brand better (Verbatim?) nowadays?

Has anybody experience with this particular product? Does it belongs to the Value line or to the Premium line of Taiyo Yuden?

My burnertype build in the PC is:

NEC DVD RW ND-4571A

Thanks in forward for helping me! :iagree:

Kind regards,

CookieNL

Hi CookieNL, welcome to CDFreaks! :slight_smile:

For DVD media I’d say that Verbatim and Taiyo Yuden are my two favourite choices. Provided the batch of media is good, the drive is good, and I use a reasonable burning speed, I’ve never experienced an unplayable DVD using any of the following media:

Verbatim 16x DVD+R (MCC 004)
Taiyo Yuden 8x DVD+R (YUDEN000 T02)

Verbatim 16x DVD-R (MCC 03RG20)
Verbatim 8x DVD-R (MCC 02RG20)

I’ve had some occasional problems with picky DVD players and Taiyo Yuden 16x DVD+R (YUDEN000 T03) and a little more often with Taiyo Yuden 16x DVD-R (TYG03) and the same picky DVD player, so these are not my first choices for DVD movie backups (but they are great for data backups).