Support for *.cl4?

vbimport

I am new to the CD Freaks forum and to DVD burning, but not to CD burning or the CD Freaks site. Most of the real techie stuff is beyond me, though.

I just got a new computer (Windows XP) and am setting it up with the software I need.

Until now I have used Easy CD Creator 4 to make my CDs. I know it’s really old, but I never felt the need to upgrade. But my new computer has a DVD recorder that this old program will not support.

I thought about jumping up to Easy Media Creator 8. However, Roxio is terrible about backwards-compatibility. They abandoned the *.cl4 format with Easy CD Creator 5, and have changed formats at least once more since then.

I have a lot of disc images in the *.cl4 format that I would like to keep, and I am wondering if there is ANY other program out there that supports *.cl4–perhaps a freeware program or something? It’s probably a long shot, but I thought I’d give it a try. I remember losing some stuff in the switch from *.cl3 to *.cl4–it’s a real pain.

As for the future, I will probably go the freeware route for my future CD and DVD burning needs. I’m looking around here to see what the preferred programs are.

Thanks for reading this.

CL4 file that is not an entire disc image, merely a compilation list that EZCD uses, similar to Nero’s compilation lists, or MP3 Playlists (PLS/M3U).

I am not aware of any programs that can use these though …

Have you tried loading it into Nero or an upto date EZCD?

Apparently “Acoustica MP3 CD Burner” supports playlists based on CL3, CL4 or CL5 from EZCD. I think they have a demo version … maybe you can convert them, the playlists only, not the audio files. :wink:

Or “Acoustica Audio Converter Pro 1.0

Another thought. Can you open them in Notepad?
What do they look like? Most playlists seem to be plain text files, and these can be editted manually, if there aren’t hundreds :wink: