Super Newbie here!

vbimport

Burning CDs isn’t too complex, and I imagine DVDs aren’t either once you know what you’re doing, but today is my 1st day and I am looking for some tips.

Here is what I have to work with so far:

NEC 3520a DVD/CD

Nero 6.6.0.8 Software installed

DVD Decrypter - just installed, not quite sure how to use yet

DVD Rebuilder - not installed yet

When I first installed Nero, I thought it would be as easy as just clicking the copy entire disc button and I’m done. Of course the copy protection kicked in and stopped me dead in my tracks.

So after a tiny bit of reading, it looks like I’ll have to burn an image to my HDD first, then burn the DVD. I’m not sure what DVD Rebuilder does. I imagine it is something to make the HDD image into what I’ll need to have Nero burn the disc?

The 2 movies I want to burn seem to both have over 6 gigs of info on them. I guess I’ll have to sacrifice some stuff to make the files smaller since my media only holds 4.7 Gigs. I clicked the main IFO and VOB files only using DVD Decrypter, hopefully that will do the trick. Is there any way to see what the VOB files are? Like can I know which part of the movie that file is?

Anyone got any basic tips or corrections they can help me out with? I expect I will make a few coasters before I learn what’s up, but I’d much rather not :slight_smile:

Thanks

The Vob files are the main movie files, it included main movie, audio, subtitles
for example.
Dvd rebuilder it’s an encoder which shrinks your dvd to dvd-5.
I never tested it yet, but I heard about only nice comments.
But why don’t you use Dvd Shrink it’s freeware, easy to handle with, and has a very
good quality! And if you want to see different parts of the movie the easiest way
would be you put the whole movie on your hdd, then use Dvd Shrink to see what you
like to have on your dvd for example making ofs etc.! :slight_smile:

DVD Rebuilder is not a encoder. It is a program like Shrink but uses Encoders to do the work.