Sucesseful laser aligment on Optiarc AD-7700S

vbimport

Hello guys, new here just registered to share my experience with you. Not sure, is this right place for my post.
Been Googleing for how to align DVD laser for some time and haven’t found any thing, till I pulled out hack of the day my self.
Little background, I’m an electronics technician, fixed a lot of TV’s and VSR’s in my life. Never dealt with DVD’s or CD-ROM’s, because I never had any serious problems with them. Finally I got 1 problematic DVD burner.
Been using my Optiarc for nearly year, been very happy with it but couple months ago it started playing up. First it refused read DVD’s, got it working somehow. Then it started refusing read DVD’s, I wrote with it, now that’s not good. And finally today it refused read CD, I wrote just couple of hours before putting CD in to drive again.
I was like… Awww… Have go tomorrow and buy new one. This one is pretty much dead now. But as it was Friday evening and I had some spare time. Thought my self “What the hell, got nothing much to loose. I’ll give a go”
Tools you need:
Fine phillips screwdriver.
1 original CD (any really, I used musics CD)
1 DVD (bigger is better, I used WoW Cataclysm original DVD, dual layer buy the way).
1 CD and 1 DVD “cooked” with your burner.
Because AD-7700S is SATA, it is also hot swap capable. So you don’t need switch off your laptop or computer. Just every time you plug it back, in Device manager scan for hardware changes.
Paper-clip or piece of wire, for opening tray.
Procedure it’s self is quite simple, took me few hours to figure out, how things do work.
To start, pull DVD-ROM out of your rig. Remove top cover and bottom cover. Now under bottom you going to see yellow-brown ribbon cable. Very fragile buy the way, do not break it. And under same cable is hole with 2 silver thingies, cross on the centre. Those are trimmer potentiometers, one is for aligning with original media and another is for aligning with media written buy you.