Subchannel/TOC error question

Hello all,

I’m new, just registered. This website/forum came up when I googled the above phrase “Subchannel/TOC error”. If anyone is familiar with what that error message means, I’d appreciate learning about it.

Here’s the story. I have a CD master of original music I made; burned the individual tracks on a Denon CD burner, edited them in Adobe Audition, then made the master CD using Nero on my XP PC. Sent it to the plant - they’re not replicating them, they’re making CD-Rs from my master - and they emailed me saying that error message came up and they’re concerned if they manufacture them the CD-Rs may not play on all players.

I’ve never seen that message and have no idea what it even means. Anyone have an idea and what I might be able to do to correct it on a new master CD? Thanks.

Welcome to CDF’s:

Sounds like the TOC=Table Of Contents is messed up. In that case yeah they probably won’t play on much of anything.

I would say you need a new master.

What brand of CD-R’s are you using? What speed was the CD-R burned? Is you Denon CD burner a stand alone?

Bob,

Thanks for the suggestion. So are you suggesting this may have been a one-time error? If I make a new master just as I did the first time, the same problem may not occur?

Are you aware of any way to check the CD for that error (other than playing it on a number of different CD players)?

Thanks

Sorry i added some info in my post you may not have seen.

I don’t know how to check it other than throwing the disc in a picky player. Maybe someone else knows.

The TOC has all the info for the disc. Knows where all the tracks are on the disc. It’s very important.

Was it an overburn? The TOC is written last i believe.

Edit:
Some media is really crappy on the outer edge where the dye might not be good. So like i said the TOC is written last so if you filled up the disc or overburned then that might be it.

Cool, thanks. I appreciate the input.