Struggling to set up a wifi network in my home cant seem to do it

vbimport

I am struggling to set up a wifi network in my home, I have never done it before. I have the apple airport extreme & I am trying to set it up with my 7 year old PC with a wired DSL modem in the kitchen. I determined & am fairly sure my PC does not have wifi built in. So I bought a USB adapter, I tried to follow the instructions on installing the drivers for the adapter. I installed the drivers, & plugged it in to the usb cable it came with. I then plugged in the apple airport extreme, & I am getting a blinking amber light. When I try to connect to the internet, the pages load very slowly & cannot load. So I unplugged the usb adapter, & I can get the internet this way. I have tried to open airport utility, but I cannot even get through the first steps without getting an error message.

The utility seems to find the apple device when I connect the usb adapter. It scans the airport & then I get a message that reads;

An error occurred while trying to access the apple wireless device. Make sure your network connection is valid & try again.

error -4

so I cannot set up the device, it is sitting on top of the pc tower with a blinking amber light.

my DSL modem has 1 yellow Ethernet cable & 1 grey DSL phone line where it plugs into the back of a phone in the kitchen. To set up the apple router, I unplugged the yellow cable that goes into the DSL modem from the back of the pc & plugged it into the corresponding port on the apple router. I then plugged another grey cat5 network cable into the computer & to another of the ports on the apple router.

I tried out using my ipod touch in different rooms, & it seemed to work & connect to the internet. But I had trouble connecting to the internet at the pc in the kitchen.

the usb adapter when plugged in shows it with a good signal strength, with the apple airport listed in the tray icons at the bottom of my computer screen.