Strangest burn ever

This is on my trusted MCC02RG20 media but burnt with my ASUS @ 4x, which I’ve never used before with this media.

The 4x scan is pretty darn good. 8x scan and also 12x scan are almost identical. However the 16x sucks. Then the TRT with my two BenQ drives sucks. TRT on fussy pioneer passes though. TRT on LG also passes fine. I’m just confused as to how the 16x scan could be so bad and TRT on the liteon be so bad. I guess there’s just something that you cannot measure with a home drive, which is causing the disc to be harder to read @ high speed.

I’ll probably use the disc anyways for PS2 since the read speed is probably not even going past 2x. Still seems weird though, any thoughts?

Btw this is a good example of why you should sometimes try out 16x scanning and also TRT all media, you can’t be certain from just a 4x/8x scan.

Really those TRT’s are not bad, no big dips.

Yeah I’m saying they are fine except for the liteon, it slows down and only reaches 10x. If I TRT a couple times it shows more dips in the beginning but that’s just a TRT I did first shot. So if the Pioneer could read @ 16x, it would almost certainly have a big slowdown or uncorrectable error. The 16x scan definitely correlates with the TRT in the liteon.

The Pioneer probably experiences no problem since it only reads @ 12x. The LG reads through anything so it’s useless, but I thought I’d do a TRT with it anyways.

Strange indeed. I’ve never seen a @16X scan reveal issues (that a @4X/8X scan did not) [I]in the first MBs[/I] of the burn. In my experience high-speed scans reveal possible issues mainly in the outer part of a disc, and sometimes (but not often) right after the first GB or so… but in the first 200MB? :eek:

Also, the Litey is the only drive to react negatively in a reading test… (in a peculiar way BTW, as the drive decides not to get back to max speed after the initial slowdown! I guess it’s a firmware quirk with this drive).