Strange Disc Quality results

vbimport

First of all, I am a total newbie here. Even 3 day’s ago I didn’t even know what is crossflashing, or quality scan, Thought ASUS made best burners and Nero’s Data Verification is enough to see if a burn was good.

So, when I finally got here, I thought I should try these things out, just from curiousity, started with consistancy check for my new and only burner, an ASUS DRW-24B3ST. I scanned several previously burnt discs each 5 times using Nero CD-DVD Speed 4.7.7.16. I mostly had cheap fake MCC 03RG20-s made byYuedong Magnetoelectric, China as I don’t have good ones around. The consistnecy checks gave me a spread of 8-12% on PIE and 5-7% on PIF for each disc. But some of the discs gave strange results. With solid blocks of PIE over 1600 and PIF over 400 first to last. Those discs were perfectly readable, and while scanned over and over, once or twice gave reasonable results. So, I tried them on my friend’s burner, ASUS DRW-24B1ST with CD-DVD and they gave reasonable results. Then I checked them with KProbe 2.5.2 on my burner again, they every time gave good reasonable results. Then I again checked them on my burner with CD-DVD Speed on different speeds 2x-16x and except for 4x, they gave reasonable results, only at 4x, 9 out of 10 scans gave me peculiar results. Also, on these problematic discs, the reasonable results from CD-DVD Speed is not very close with KProbe results, but on good discs they are on the 12% consistency spread. Also, the percentage of these peculiar discs are increasing with more and more disc I’m trying to scan.

So, Where do I have the problem? Is it the cheap media, or a software problem or is my drive a bad apple among Lite-On rebadges? Can crossflashing my drive to Lite-On firmware solve the problem?

I’ve attathched some scans of same disc giving different results.

First off Welcome to the forums Swapnil :smiley: