Storing dvds

vbimport

This will probably sound like a dumb question:
Is it better to store dvds (for a long time) vertically or horizontally? Or will it make any difference over the years?
I just bought a dvd burner and i don’t trust dvd too much yet as a reliable media…
I’ve been working for four years as a computer parts salesman and you wouldn’t believe the horror stories i’ve seen (and been told) about bad CDs. For example, a costumer bought cheap CDs and came back a year later because the reflective layer on the top of almost every CD just peeled off…

I don’t want to sound too paranoid :wink: but i know good CDs can be trusted. I’ve been told that DVDs are a much more fragile, so i want to make sure i don’t loose any data…

Thanks!

Hey and welcome to CDFs!

I think dont think it matters. As long as you store them in a case, out of direct sun light, and in low humidity they sould be fine for a good 10-30 years! Also using high quality media (Sony, TDK ect) can help.

\\VH////
:slight_smile:

I’ve been told that DVDs are a much more fragile, so i want to make sure i don’t loose any data…
Cheap and nasty Disc’s are fragile. As Virus stated If you spend the cash you get the goods: Taiyo Yuden, TDK, and Verbatim so long as their genuine will give you no grief. It is recommended to store them vertically in low humidity and out of constant sunlight. (eg not next to a window) My oldest DVD-R is nearly 3 years (TDK-TTGO2) and plays perfectly. As far as reflective layers peeling off, it is much less likely with a DVD if not impossible. Check out the pic posted by Hastey: DVD’s reflective and dye layer are the centre of a sandwich.

Thanks!
I followed your link on media id guide and found that the DVDs i bought are TDK TTG02. So i guess they’re ok.

Vincent