Step by step

Hi.
I am new to this and I tried looking through the messages but there are so many of them. I was wondering if there is a place here to teach someone step by step instructions for making back up copies of my PC games and other programs.
I am trying to copy the all the Sims games. i made one using Alcohol and while I could copy the game to hhd I could not play it using that copy because I kept getting a message that there was an error and Sims was shutting down.
Also I have already bought 3 copies of my Windows 98 SE and I made a copy of that too but even though it starts ok if I try to add something to my husbands computer ( he uses win 98 and I use win xp pro.) it tells me to put the CD in and it’s already there.
I am using the computer with WIN XP to copy. I have a Pioneer 104 DVD burner and CDRW burner.
Please point me in the right direction.
Thanks, Jac

it tells me to put the CD in and it’s already there

You get this message because it’s a cd with copy protection called safedisk 2.or you haven’t put in the image in the virtual drive of Alcohol 120%

It’s been a while that I have backed-up a copy protected cd but this is what I know.

I like it that you mentioned alcohol 120% because I find it the best program for a beginner to make a copy protected back-up.

If you want to back-up games I would fitst see or there is a protection on this.

A good program for it is clonyxxl ,you can find it here

http://www.cdfreaks.com/software/75

Just insert the disc and press scan and you will get the protection.

Then if your still not sure you can do a search on www.gamecopyworld.com and it says that “the sims” is protected with safedisk v2.

Now there are different versions of savedisk v2 but normally clonyxxl will tell you which to pick.