Splitting material

vbimport

I’m new to DVDFab. Like it a lot so far. Here is my current problem:

I have a movie. The disc has two versions of the movie. One is the movie of course. It dubbed fine. The other is the movie with the director’s comments.

How can I rip/burn/dub just the version that has the director’s comments onto a seperate disc? It was compressing it all down to 55% to try to fit BOTH movies onto one disc. I thought I might lose too much quality with that much compression. Hence, my desire to use two discs. I have the movie itself done - I just don’t know how to tweak out just the director’s comments movie by itself onto a seperate disc. I hope I am not sounding to redundant. I just want to describe the problem well.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Dean

Why not just use a DL then you can get it all on just 1 disc

I don’t know. Never thought of that. I thought DL were only available to studios. So, the general public can buy them? Like, i could buy a few of them at WalMart? All I have ever bought were DVD-R 4.7gb.

Thanks a bunch.

Dean

a directors commentary is usually just a 2nd audio stream. you’ll find that most ( s 90+%) of the original DVD space is taken up by the video stream. the movie video will only be recorded once onto the DVD, when you choose to watch it with directorys commentary it just gets played with a different audio stream.

So there will be 2 or more audio streams + some menus & maybe some extras. one of the audio streams will be the directors commentary.

you may have to preview the DVD with another program like powerdvd in order to work out which audio stream is which.

you can then tell dvdfab , in customise or main movie mode, which audio strreams to copy & which to leave out, but you don’t save a lot of space that way - you’ll still probably need to compress the movie

Cybmole and Jimbo-

Thank you for your replies.