Speed problem?

vbimport

Hi, I’m a newbie here, and recently got an LG-4163B.

I’ve done the following:

1. downloaded A104 firmware
  2. patched with MCSE so that SONY08D1 uses SONY16D1 strategy. (should try to write @ 16x on 8x sony/benq media)

So I run DVD Decryptor, select ‘MAX’ speed, and opened an ISO file that I created with DVD Shrink.

I start burning, DVD Decrypter indicates possible speeds as:

Destination Media Type: DVD-R (Disc ID: SONY08D1) (Speeds: 4x, 8x, 8x, 16x, 16x)

It doesn’t even reach 8x speeds:

Average Write Rate: 3,086 KB/s (2.2x) - Maximum Write Rate: 5,709 KB/s (4.1x)

The drive is master on secondary IDE, and is ultra DMA mode 2. My CPU is an AMD Barton 2500+ o/c to 3200+ levels (2400 Mhz), with 512MB.

Is there a limitation of using DVD Decrypter with LG-4163b?

Interesting. And this read speed is usually much higher using other software?

The only way I could see this happening would be with a small file where the speed never actually gets to reach 8X or something is being reported incorrectly.

I would download the trial of CloneDVD and burn an entire disc and report back the time for burning only. Make sure your DMA setting is still enabled. Is there anything else on this cable? Maybe go to stock A104 and see if that could be the problem?

http://www.elby.de/products/clone_dvd/download.html

I had the same problem (drive would not read or burn above about 10x) with 3 diffrent burners. Make sure that you check your dma settings in the bios and see how the drives are reporting during startup. Windows sometimes lies and falsely reports that it is running in dma when it is not. It must be set to dma in the bios and windows. Also, try running a burst rate test (and or a transfer rate test) in cdspeed to verify that your drive is actually capable of transfering data fast enough to burn at the speeds you want with current settings.