Sound problems during encoding after capture & edit

Hi all–

Newbie here. I started capturing, encoding/rendering, and burning to DVD last week or so. System specs: Windows XP system, running a P4 at 2.8GHz, 1GB of RAM, plenty o’ hard disk space. Video card is ATI AIW 9700, sound card is Audigy 2.

I used the Pinnacle Studio 8 to capture, edit, and encode the first time from a composite (VHS) source at a custom capture rate of 4288kbps in MPEG2 format at a resolution of 720x480 with sound encoded initially as MPEG Layer 2, 16-bit stereo, at a sample rate of 48kHz (these sound options in Pinnacle could not be altered, they were grayed out). When I initially captured the program, the audio was fine and everything was synched (I even have the source file on the hard drive now and have just checked its integrity against the edit). However, after I edited the program in Pinnacle and let the program render the edited version from the original, at the same bitrate as above, but altering the sound to 44.1kHz and a data rate of 224 Kbits/sec (these sound options CAN be changed), I suddenly got very brief, periodic lapses in the sound and, almost unnoticeably, some very minor video glitches (slowdown/slow-mo-ish that weren’t there before). I burned to DVD and of course got the same glitches.