Sony RDR-VX500 upgrade, possible?

vbimport

Hey all!
Before I begin, lemme start by saying I’m a noob, so if this has been covered before, I apologize!

I own a Sony RDR-VX500, bought it new about 4 months ago. Since the first day I’ve been dissatisfied with the quality of the unit. From slow eject and reading times to poor consistency in burning dvds, this unit has shown me that Sony does not always mean quality!
Anyway, instead of boring y’all with my rhetoric, I’ll cut to the chase. After having another ruined burn yesterday, I had a tiny conniption and broke the burner’s door clear off! After calming down I ripped the unit apart, only to find an NEC ND-2500A burner in it! Now, the burner is pretty much garbage at this point, since most of the gears came out after my little fit, along with a couple bands and springs, but I’m wondering, if I head down to the computer store and replace the burner with a newer unit, does anyone know if this will get me back up and running? I’m looking at several units, one being the ND3520A, but would like to upgrade to something better if it will burn discs properly. The other two units I’d like to install would be the Gigabyte GO-W0808A or an LG GSA-4163B.

My biggest question is will the Sony accept a transplant of a different variety, or will it puke on me? I’m not real keen on puttin’ another 2500 back in, as I’m sure the problems aren’t in the machine itself, but mainly the way the burner works. I can’t really tell if the “Sonata” daughterboard controls the 2500 exclusively, or if it is just a generic controller that allows the burner to detect and adjust for different discs.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!!!
Chris

Well, I guess I’ll just answer my own post, and possibly help others out too!