Sony q28a at ky06

vbimport

i have been playing with different firmware now for about 2-3 months, i have tried kys1,kys2, kys3 kys4, as a lite-on i have tried ksob and ks4b-cf-fbdx and lastly i have tried ky06. I think that ky06 has produced slightly better quality burns than the other ones. I was going to try and fine tune the ky06 firmware but i noticed there is different variations of ky06. one ky06 is 633 kb in size and looks different than the ky06 that is 3,003kb in size, i am not sure if they flash my drive the same or not but i don’t see how they could when they are different in size. I also noticed that ky06 is slightly slower but i don’t care about speed, quality is my only priority. i was also wondering if flashing my drive too many times could create problems and how to “reset” my drive if it has become problematic from flashing it too many times

Hi Kenny
I also have dw-q28a. I flashed it twise. KYS1 was original firmware. Then I installed hacked fw from CodeKing kc4b. The latest fw is KY06, which gives me slightly better quality than the other two. To install it, I tried to run 633 kb version first, but I got an error message, which said that the fw is only for DRU-800A. Then I ran 3,003kb version, and it was successful. I rebooted the computer and reset learnt media with eeprom utility.
Here is the scan of three disks. Media used is Sony D11 (Sony DVD+R 8x Made in Taiwan). I burnt them with Nero 7 at 8x. Firmware virsions:

1. kys1
  2. kc4b
  3. ky06