Sony Optiarc AD-7191S

vbimport

Hello,

I’m new to CDFreaks ! Glad to see there are people out there to help solve some of the PC issues that arise. I recently purchased (2) Sony Optiarc AD-7191S DVD burners. :a But, I am having trouble duplicating some disks for backups while using AnyDVD. While trying to either copy from disk to disk or copy to an image file the burner gets to about 99% complete then crashes the entire PC (blue screen of death - physical memory dump). I have to actually reload the drivers to get the tray to open. Can some one Help Please ! If this requires a firmware update please post the web site for download and any procedures if required.

Thanks in advance ! :iagree:

Ok, I flashed the firmware with Optiarc’s firmware 1.01. It was already at v1.01 but, I flashed anyway. Same result as before (Windows BSD)!

Please someone, Help !!!

When updating the drivers, I noticed that the region code is not set on my DVD burner. Could this be the problem, per my earlier posts?

Thanks - anyone? anyone? anyone? Buehler? :sad:

Well, I set the region code to 1. The system still crashes when reading from the original disk.

HELP !

What are your system specifications? Such as motherboard, chipset, installed drivers, etc.

You can use programs like CPU-Z, Everest, PC Wizard, Nero InfoTool, etc to get information if you don’t know it. :flower:

Most important would be motherboard, chipset, and SATA drivers cause thatswhat usually cause trouble.
Updating storage controller drives will never be wrong. :slight_smile:

chip: intel q6600
mobo: ASUS striker II formula - asus s775 nf780i sli ddr2
Corsari memory: 2 - 2 gig memory sticks
Sony Optiarc AD-7191S qty (2)
windows xp x64
nvidia 9600 gt 512 mb

Ah, the old nForce chipset shows its head…

What version of the nForce SATA driver are you using, and are you running a RAID setup?

dvd #1

NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller

Driver Provider: NVIDIA Corporation
Driver Version: 5.10.2600.0998