SONY OEM DVD RW Q-120A firmfare crossflashing possible?

vbimport

ok i am new to this forums…and have only done flashing of firmware and all just once…
so i am not a total noob…but not an experienced guy too…
so what i want to ask is …i too have the same OEM SONY DVD RW Q-120A drive. which i dont find very good in terms of quality burns and even reading dvds…
so successfully will flashing the firmware to a LITE ON one as said by Codeking and others in the above posts. will show some better performance and better burns ?
also what are the + points of flashing it to the LITE ON .firmware. ??is it worth taking the risk …? also can i revert back to original firmware if anything goes wrong ?

hope my doubts will be cleared …expecting some detailed answers…for my first post in the forums …!
thanx…in advance…

NEED SOME QUICK REPLIES…GUYS…CMON DONT DISAPPOINT ME…GIVE SOME REPLIES., I NEED HELP…

According to http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=205452 it can be cross flashed to SHM-165P6S LiteOn, but I don’t know if it can be back flashed.

thats not the answer to my question,… i need to if is there any advantage as such of doing it ??

Hi,

:cop: This is a double posting, you know this is against the rules here :cop:

What firmware version is installed on your drive? Make sure, you have latest official firmware from Sony. Unfortunately, sonyisstorage.com has reorganized their website, so I couln’t find the last version there, but maybe there are other sources for that.
Burn quality depends on the media you feed your drive with, no firmware can turn crap into gold. Also, I doubt, that the reading performance was improved with newer firmwares, Liteon firmware included.

so successfully will flashing the firmware to a LITE ON one as said by Codeking and others in the above posts. will show some better performance and better burns ?
It depends, see above.

also what are the + points of flashing it to the LITE ON .firmware. ??is it worth taking the risk …?