Sony dw-q58a burning DVD problem

vbimport

Hi,

I wanted to burn a movie with my DVD burner on my computer, but all the programs I used all came up with some sort of message like “Invalid DVD directory” or “Error formatting the media”. I converted the .avi file to DVD files using winavi. I’ve never tried burning a DVD before on my computer (Sony Vaio) and I’ve had it for about 2 years. I’m not sure if it’s my file or my DVD burner that’s at fault.

thanks

What exactly are you trying to burn?

I’m trying to burn an .avi file. I used winavi to convert the movie I wanted to burn from .avi to .vob files or something? Sorry, I’m not really that knowledgable in stuff like this, so I don’t even know if it was converted correctly. :confused:

Why don’t you give DVDFlick a go? It’s free, and will burn your project after conversion :slight_smile:

If that doesn’t help, then perhaps we can look at other things (media etc).

Personally, I use ConvertXtoDVD, which works everytime for me. It’s not free, though.

I tried using Convertxtodvd and it came up with:

error BURN: Write error at 0 (16) - Code 05 30 10 [Illegal request, medium not formatted]

Do you have Alcohol or Daemon Tools installed by any chance? Or any other virtual drive/emulation software?

And what brand of media are you using?

Welcome to CDF’s:

I wonder if Windoze burn app is interfering?

I do have Alcohol 120% and PowerISO. I’m using a Memorex DVD+RW.

Thank you for helping =D

[QUOTE=chenkydragon;2081818]I do have Alcohol 120% and PowerISO. I’m using a Memorex DVD+RW.

Thank you for helping =D[/QUOTE]

Disable “hide cd/dvd media” in alcohol and get better media.

[QUOTE=chef;2081822]Disable “hide cd/dvd media” in alcohol and get better media.[/QUOTE]

Hehe, you beat me to it :bigsmile:

I think in Alcohol, the option to look for is “Ignore Media Type” - uncheck that and try again. :wink:

The “ignore media type” was already unchecked when I went to disable it in Alcohol.