Sony DW-D56A problems

vbimport

Hi all I’m new to this and could really use some help, hope I have done all I am sopposed to!.
:sad: I have recently purchased A sony dw-d56a-11 dvd± dual layer dvd rewriter, I have removed my old dvd rom drive from my fujitsu e7010 laptop and installed the new dvd rw drive. It works fine as a cd/dvd rom drive but I dont seem to be able to find any writting drive in my laptop, If I look in my comp. it says I have sony dvd rw but if I open nero it does not find any dvd rw drive or cd rw drive.

I have looked in my device manager and all seems to be ok and driver says device is working correcly .

my laptop came with XP sp1 but I always check for updates and I am running sp2 with all updates.

please help!!

darren :confused:

Hi me again I have been looking into this again this morning and used the nero info tool this looked at my sony drive and says it is capable of writing all types of media (cd and dvd +&-) as shown below.I dont know where to start looking now could it be a problem with my laptop and not the drive or the software :a
Drive Information

Drive : SONY DVD RW DW-D56A
Type : DVD-R/RW Combo Drive
Firmware Version : PYS1
Buffer Size : 2 MB
Date : ?
Serial Number
Drive Letter : D:
Mechanism : Tray
Read Speed : 10, 8, 4 X
Write Speed : 24 X

Read CD Text : Yes
Return C2 Pointers : Yes
Read CD-R : Yes
Read CD-RW : Yes
Read DVD-ROM : Yes
Read DVD-RAM : No
Read DVD-R : Yes
Read DVD-RW : Yes
Read DVD+R : Yes
Read DVD+RW : Yes
Read Digital Audio : Yes
Read CD+G : Yes
Read VideoCD : Yes

Write CD-R : Yes
Write CD-RW : Yes
Write DVD-R : Yes
Write DVD-RW : Yes
Write DVD+R : Yes
Write DVD+RW : Yes
Write DVD-RAM : No
Buffer Underrun Protection : No
Mount Rainier : No
Modes : Packet, TAO, DAO, SAO, RAW SAO, RAW SAO 16, RAW SAO 96, RAW DAO 16, RAW DAO 96

Region Protection Control : RPC II
Region : 2
Changes User : 4
Changes Vendor : 4

Disc Information (D:)

Type : Data CD (Mode 1)
Capacity : 05:43.36 (50 MB)
Tracks : 1
Sessions : 1