Sony DVD RW DRU-720A issues

vbimport

Hi team,

first post - please forgive me ( I’m a NEWB!!! :slight_smile: ) I have experience in diff forums (usually on a woodworking site. So anyway - hello from Australia).

I have a question for you guys - My apologies if it has already been answered elsewhere in this obviously fine forum.

I have A sony DVD R/W DRU -720A on my pc. I have updated firmware and drivers from the Sony site and all is wonderful according to all the blurb that my PC and the SONY site spits out… however when I write a DVD with the burner (Generic blank DVD’s - & + format) it says it burns ok but when i try to read the dvd on the same drive or another one it fails to read - it either does a partial write or fails to read altoghether. note when i play a DVD either a movie or one recorded elsewhere its all ok - CD’s are ok too…

I use multiple s/w packages (NTI CD & DVD / NERO / DVDSHRINK) and they all say “write ok” etc but same issues.

Does the Sony DVD DRU720A have issues - is it a dog? should I buy another or something like that ? this is starting to ANNOY!!! me :a :a :a

I appreciate your responses.

( PS : as an aside for the worlds BEST woodworking BBS site go to www.ubeaut.com.au and go to the “BB section” Cheers )

cheers

Zed_man from Oz.

Hi & welcome :slight_smile: !

Your firmware should be at version no. JY08, correct?

Using “… Generic blank DVD’s …” is your most likely problem. Unlike CD-R nowadays, blank DVD media is still a lot more problematic concerning quality and compatibility. Please try using some proven brand media, like Verbatim.

Also, you can check your burns with a little program called “Nero CD-DVD- Speed” (under Programs - Nero - Nero Toolkit) by doing a “Tranfer Rate Test” and a “Disc Quality Test”. There’s lots of info on this forum about interpreting the scan results. I expect you’ll see some interesting graphs with those “generic” discs :slight_smile: .